About The DAISY Awards

The DAISY Award is an international recognition program started in memory of J. Patrick Barnes. Pat’s family experienced first-hand the difference his nurses made in his care through clinical excellence and outstanding compassionate care. The family created The DAISY Award to express gratitude to nurses and to enable other patients, families, and staff to thank and honor their special nurses. Please visit DAISYFoundation.org to learn more about Pat’s story and how The DAISY Award recognizes Extraordinary Nurses.

Nurses practicing and/or living in Arkansas are eligible for nomination including:

  • Licensed Practical Nurses (LPN)
  • Registered Nurses (RN)
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN)

Certified Nurse Practitioner (NP)

Clinical Nurse Specialists (CNS)

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)

Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)

  • Students enrolled in educational programs for any of the above licensed roles.

These are the different ways to recognize your special nurse:

  • DAISY Award – recognizes compassionate care by a direct patient care nurse
  • DAISY Nurse Leader Award – a nurse who provides the environment and encouragement for compassionate care to thrive
  • DAISY Team Award – Nurse-led teams that can include all members of the care team
  • DAISY Award for Health Equity – nurses who impact underserved communities by addressing Social Determinants of Health
  • DAISY Lifetime Achievement Award – for nurses who have devoted their life’s work to the compassionate care of others
  • DAISY Nursing Student Award – recognizes compassionate care by students in their clinical rotations and beyond
  • DAISY Faculty Award – honors the inspiration provided by nursing faculty to their students